Streetscape Celebration

Posted by on Nov 8, 2013 in Bourne's Downtown | 0 comments

Main Street in Bourne’s Downtown has been upgraded to create a pedestrian-friendly experience. The final stage of the streetscape was supported by state funds with the assistance of Senate President Therese Murray. Senator Murray joined a celebration of the project’s end and was presented with a permanent honor — a rock engraved with the Town’s appreciation. Others who joined the celebration included Congressman William Keating, members of the Town’s Board of Selectmen, the Town Administrator and the Town Planner. The BFDC’s Executive Director spoke at the...

Read More

John Harding Why Not! Award

Posted by on Nov 8, 2013 in Uncategorized | 0 comments

Thomas S. Cahir, Administrator of the Cape Cod Regional Transit Authority, was honored at the Annual Meeting of the Bourne Financial Development Corporation (BFDC). Tom was presented with the John Harding Why Not! Award at the meeting at the MA Maritime Academy.  The BFDC Board of Directors selected Tom for the award in recognition of Tom’s work to establish the CapeFLYER, a weekend summer train that brought visitors to the Cape. The project exceeded all ridership expectations with two stops: Buzzards Bay and Hyannis.   The award, named for the BFDC’s first President, is presented annually to a person who embodies John’s approach to projects: “Why Not!” The selection process includes identifying people who, if presented with roadblocks or difficulties, look for alternatives that still met project guidelines and regulations. And, equally importantly, people who give credit where it is due.  While Tom acknowledged his part in developing the CapeFLYER service, he also requested that the credit be shared: “it is important to note that my incredible staff contributed greatly to the overwhelming success of the CapeFLYER.”  Congressman William Keating presented Tom with a Certificate of Congressional Recognition and State Representative David Vieira delivered an official citation from the MA House of Representatives signed by himself and Speaker Robert A. DeLeo.   Past recipients: 2009: Christopher J. Farrell, Bourne Planning Board and Town Planner Coreen V. Moore 2010: Daniel L. Doucette, retired member of the Bourne Fire Department, active citizen 2011: Scott Zeien, Kingman Yacht Center 2012: Mary Ellen McCarthy, Trowbridge Tavern 2013: Thomas S. Cahir, Administrator Cape Cod Regional Transit Authority, former Bourne State...

Read More